5 replies to this topic

#1 DomS

DomS

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 July 2017 - 07:37 AM

Hi guys,

Newbie here and getting a first challenge.

I would like to audit one of our file servers but the error " Cannot establish a connection to a Compression Service" keep registering in the Auditor server. See attached screenshot.

The file server is running on Win2012, is also an AD controller and DFS server (DFS continue to work).

The Auditor server is running on Win2012 R2 and is a member server. 

.Net 4.5 is installed on both servers.

Any ideas?

Dom

Attached Files

#2 jeffb

jeffb

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts

Posted 18 July 2017 - 12:15 PM

Dom,

Try to do the following on the target FS:

1) Stop "Netwrix Auditor Application Deployment Service"

2) execute as admin: sc delete nwxexesvc

3) remove the content of "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\NwxExeSvc"
4) Allow the compression service to re-deploy.

-Jeff

#3 DomS

DomS

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 July 2017 - 12:57 AM

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your suggestion.

I realised this is the only file server having this issue so I just decided to restart it and funny enough it fixed the problem!

I'll consider your suggestion next time.

Cheers,

Dom

#4 BainsJ

BainsJ

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 August 2017 - 09:25 AM

Hi Jeff,

I've followed your instructions however the Netwrix Auditor Application Deployment Service now shows an error stating:

--

Windows could not start the Netwrix Auditor Application Deployment service on Local Computer.

Error 2:The system cannot find the file specified

--

Could you advise what you mean by "allow the compression service to redeploy"? Do you mean run the update again from the Netwrix Auditor console? 

We're on version 9.0. Our file server is 2012R2 but does not share it's VM with AD or other services, like the original poster.

Thanks,

B

#5 Jadentek

Jadentek

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts